RSS Feed

Rise and Shine

Rise and Shine

Bonus: Max is old enough to make them himself now.

I would like to say that Max had a hot breakfast every morning of his childhood. I would like to say he only ate cereal for breakfast for his first few months after starting solid food while his Dad and I got a handle on dealing with his food allergies.

The truth, however, is that he ate cold cereal for breakfast every morning without fail for years and years. In my defense, it’s fairly healthy, and I was busy figuring out cakes and cookies and casseroles and soups. Breakfast without dairy and eggs seemed too daunting. Plus, I am not a morning person. Breakfast without eggs and dairy seemed even more daunting at 7 a.m.

It was my Mom, who is a morning person, who first decided to experiment. She decided to begin with my childhood favorite, pancakes. She substituted soy milk for dairy and Energ Egg Replacer, she found in the health food store, for the eggs in a recipe from a very tried and true Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.

Those first pancakes did not brown well. To my more experienced pancake palate, they seemed overly sweet and a little on the tough side too. Max, for his part, gobbled them up and asked for seconds. I stumbled somewhat belatedly on a principle of cooking for kids that should have been more intuitive if I had been less intimidated about experimenting: Almost everything will be happily eaten if it can be dipped in maple syrup.

We still eat a lot of cereal and way too many Poptarts (many flavors are dairy free) but I have settled on a great pancake recipe. We have pancakes now once a week. I have found a recipe that I love and works well.

Now that he has outgrown his egg allergy we have omlettes and scrambled eggs regularly as well. I am still not a morning person however. Not even my mom has a recipe for that. Luckily breakfast foods work for dinner as well.

Pancakes

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 beaten eggs or equivalent in egg replacer
2 tablespoon canola oil
2 cups soy milk

Mix dry ingredients. Set aside. Mix oil, soy milk and egg. Pour wet into dry. Mix until most lumps are gone. Heat skillet to highest setting. Poor 1/4 cup of batter per cake. Flip when bubbles form. Serve hot. Freeze extras. Makes about 30.

Variations add dairy-free chocolate cake and/or replace plain soy milk with chocolate soy milk.

2 responses »

  1. Don’t feel bad. My son eats breakfast cereal every day pretty much too. He gets the occasional pancake or eggs on the weekends, but other than that it’s oatmeal, breakfast cereal, or sunflower butter on toast. He loves it all though! And breakfast cereal can be so healthy now anyway.

    I’ve started a blog hop for anyone dealing with allergies, eczema, or asthma, either for themselves or as a caregiver. If you’re interested in joining, please add a comment. I’d love to welcome you to the group. http://itchylittleworld.wordpress.com/blog-hop/

    Jennifer

    Reply
  2. Getting a breakfast into my eldest son, no matter if it is his favourite, is difficult at the best of times! On school days, I leave him a mixture of cocoa,sugar and protein powder with the soy milk measured and ready in the micro for him to heat up, pour, stir and drink. I figure it is better than nothing. My son loves pancakes and I try to make them on the weekend and bring premade packages on trips. I adapted a recipe from Better Homes New Cookbook to be dairy and egg free with great results. I have also substituted oat flour or part whole wheat flour with success. My boys love frozen blueberries sprinkled on top before flipping. Susan H. @ The Food Allergy Chronicles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

