RSS Feed

Awesomeness

Last Friday I attended what may have been the best school holiday party ever.

There was a lot of sugar. They had a cotton candy machine, a chocolate fountain with graham crackers, strawberries, bananas, pretzels and marshmallows, fresh popped popcorn, a karaoke machine and favors that included Max-safe choices like moon pies and pixie sticks.

Almost all of the food with the exception of the chocolate (and that was not for lack of trying by the party organizers) was dairy free. The topic of food allergies did not even come up. Max didn’t have to explain why his pizza or sugar cookie or cupcake looked different.

He had dancing and playing games and despite the sugar food was not the only focus of the day.

It was awesome.

Even more awesome after years of having to make calls to find out what the menu was and figure out a plan to adapt to it, I didn’t even have to call anyone.

The room mom messaged me a week ahead. She had ideas but wanted suggestions. Then, as the menu became more set, several of the other parents also called wanting to make sure Max would have something safe and offering to buy whatever special items he needed.

Did I mention it was awesome? I wish every kid with food allergies could be surrounded by this many compassionate, above-and-beyond-going adults.

See also: https://dairyfreediner.wordpress.com/heroic-effort-award/ and https://dairyfreediner.wordpress.com/our-journey/

2 responses »

  1. What an awesome story! It makes such a difference when people work together with compassion in their hearts. I would also like to mention what an ‘awesome’ site you have. I want to thank you for sharing your stories and journey with others…you are inspiring! I have presented you with an award on my site. Congradulations!

    Reply
    • Thank you Susan! I will have to figure out how to keep it going in the next few days. I’m still getting the hang of this blog thing, but I appreciate the recognition. You know I love your blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

