RSS Feed

Leapin’ Leprechauns!

Posted on
Leapin’ Leprechauns!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Max is more often the “meanest boy in the world” as opposed to “the bestest brother ever” these days. That’s probably not atypical for a pair of  siblings ages 7 and 9. I’m not thrilled, but I endure. Given this context, you can imagine my delight when Claire came home from school yesterday with a St. Patrick’s Day theme story in which a leprechaun grants her four wishes and she uses one, not to banish Max from the house forever, but to cure him of his allergies.

Presenting …

My Leprechaun in a Jar

“If I cauth a leprechaun and he said if you let me go I’ll grant you four wishes, here’s what they’d be. First I would wish for a horse. Nexst I would wish for a magic devise that tacks care of my horse for me. After that I would wish for my cat how lives with my grandparents to live with me and my forthal wish would de for my brother to out grow his algis.

Some observations:

First. all spellings and grammar were the original author’s authentic second grade work. (I thought that was probably obvious, but I’ve been known to have some typos. When I thought again, I thought maybe I’d better clarify.)

Second, how is it that she can spell grandparents but not who?

Third, that’s my girl. Way to not just get a horse but think ahead and find a magic way to get all the fun while doing none of the upkeep. Not to be too picky, but couldn’t the magical horsekeeper be made to tidy up the house or at least the bathrooms too while she was wishing. I mean he/she is magical after all.

Fourth, granted she had an ulterior motives for her good brotherly deed here, but at least she was straightforward about it. For those not in the know, when Max’s environmental allergies first started to get bad (see the bottom section of Our Journey for more about that and the rest of the medical saga going on at the time), the allergist went from suggesting rather gently we rehome our cat, who predated our kids, to insisting it had to be done. We were reluctant, but as much as we considered Daisy a member of the family, we couldn’t risk exacerbating Max’s breathing problems. We persuaded my parents to take her in. It’s been four years. I think Daisy has moved on. My Dad introduced her to wet food, and she has always been a lick-the-hand-that-feeds-you kind of gal. Claire by contrast still isn’t quite over it. She keeps Daisy’s picture next to her bed and talks regularly of where Daisy will sleep and what they will do when she returns from her banishment.

Fifth, I was impressed she didn’t trade Max for Daisy. It’s kind of heartening that she at least wants to keep him around. I liked how Claire even in the context of suspended disbelief realized that  if she wanted Daisy she also had to deal with the allergy issue. She is nothing if not practical. (Edited to add: Then again, I’m not sure she suspended disbelief. She was talking a few minutes ago about when the leprechauns visit today. Well, that’s OK too. I’d love to catch one myself.)

Sixth, as a chronically long-winded writer, I totally love how when she ran out of room on the front of the sheet, she turned the paper over and drew lines so she could keep writing.

Seventh, Happy St. Patrick’s Day. Thanks for reading!

2 responses »

  1. Love, love, love this story!!!! Definitely a keeper!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My Sunshine Award | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Leave a Reply

